Thursday, April 18, 2013

Feature and Follow #6

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers. But you have to know, the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

Q: If you could hang out with any author (living) who would it be and what would you want to do?

Hmmmm... Laini Taylor! I just finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone and love doesn't even begin to describe how much I enjoyed it. I am going to savor Days of Blood and Starlight. If I do meet her, I'll probably be too starstruck to start an intellectual conversation with her (though I am curious as to where she comes up with such an intricate world with angels and chimeras). I'll probably bask in her awesomeness and hope that some of it seeps into me. Oh and I want her bubblegum pink hair.

Leave a link to your FF, so I can check it out. Please let me know if you are a new follower, so I can follow you back. Happy Friday to all!

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Review: Shadows by Paula Weston

It’s almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn.

And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams—he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense. Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth—and that the truth is more likely to be found in the shadows of her nightmares.

Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And most importantly, who can she trust?

Fast-paced and gripping, Shadows, the first book in the Rephaim series, is a standout paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Cassandra Clare.

Genre: New Adult/ Paranormal>Angels
Series: The Rephaim #1
Rating: 4.5 ☆s

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Waiting on Wednesdays #4

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

           This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:
Hi guys, today sucked big-time. Sorry that is irrelevant to this post but I needed an outlet. I just wanted someone to know that I had a bad day. Anyways, back to the book I am eagerly anticipating.
The Falconer by Elizabeth May
Edinburgh, Scotland, 1844

18-year-old Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, was destined to a life carefully planned around Edinburgh’s social events – right up until a faery kills her mother.

Now it’s the 1844 winter season. Between a seeming endless number of parties, Aileana slaughters faeries in secret. Armed with modified percussion pistols and explosives, every night she sheds her aristocratic facade and goes hunting. She’s determined to track down the faery who murdered her mother, and to destroy any who prey on humans in the city’s many dark alleyways.

But she never even considered that she might become attracted to one. To the magnetic Kiaran MacKay, the faery who trained her to kill his own kind. Nor is she at all prepared for the revelation he’s going to bring. Because Midwinter is approaching, and with it an eclipse that has the ability to unlock a Fae prison and begin the Wild Hunt.

A battle looms, and Aileana is going to have to decide how much she’s willing to lose – and just how far she’ll go to avenge her mother’s murder.

I am not sure how many of y'all heard of this one or posted it since I haven't done a WoW in a long, long time. But historical fiction and fairies sounds too delightful to pass up!
On a side note, there is news of Angelfall 2 (still no title) that it is going to be released this fall! So eeeeep.

That is all for today folks. What book are you waiting on? Let me know in the comments down below. 

Monday, April 15, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
The topic I chose is TOP TEN BOOKS THAT MADE ME THINK. Hmm now I have to think of books that made me think. Let's jump right into it!

1. Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens
Ohh the irony of the title. Did I like this book? Hell to the naw. Did it made me think? You betcha. I was so fuming by the time that I had to put it down. I am infuriated with the carelessness and selfishness of the heroine. Does two years of relationship mean so little to her that she had to sleep with her boyfriend's best friend. That is not ok!!!! I cannot see anyways that you can justify her actions. She could have at least come clean to her boyfriend and break up with him but noooo she had to keep both. I understand the fragility of human relationships but how can someone be so carelessly tossed aside. Now I am just ranting, see what this book did to me! 
(Disclaimer: I have read S.C. Stephens' other series and enjoyed it! What I can't stand is cheating. Ugh. Over and out)

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I read this during freshman year in high school. Some books are so deeply woven that I have nothing much to say except that Atticus Finch is my hero. Life is not fair but don't let such injustices blind you from other people's kindness and benevolence.
3. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
Ok, I know this is a children's book but you got to hear me out. This book does not preach selfishness but rather the value of giving. Besides the moral of the story, this book holds sentimental value to my childhood.
4. Sempre by J.M. Darhower
It's hard to believe that slavery still exists at this turn of the century. Human trafficking is real and it is scary. 
5. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Ahh peer pressure, fitting in, and speaking up for yourself. Laurie Halse Anderson addresses the toughest issues of high school and more in this coming of age novel. I LOVE this book. 

6. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
How can I not put this on my list? It's Harry freaking Potter.We all need a little fantasy in our every day life. Dream big. Holy crap I want to fly on a broomstick and play a good ole game of quidditch. Alright which one of you guys stole my Hogwarts acceptance letter?
7. Enclave by Ann Aguirre
I think number 7 goes out to all dystopian novels. (It's just that Enclave is one of my favorites!) With today's technology and other advantages of this century, many of us take for granted little things, like cars, faucet water, grocery food, and the weatherman. Internet. Right, how can I forget the internet?? Imagine living in a world with no indoor plumbing or toilet paper. *shudders
8. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
We all know about the perks of immortality but in reality how many of us would actually choose to live forever? I know a lot of vampire books address the whole "forever young" deal but this book shot that horse in the face when I first read it in sixth grade. At that age, I thought about how awesome it is to live forever, but now I finally get why Winnie chose not to drink from the spring. Smart girl.
9. Dust Lands by Moira Young
I need to choose a "fun" book. This book reminded me a lot about my sisters and I. One of them is older than me and our relationship reminds me a lot of Saba and Lugh. We do almost everything together and people actually used to think we were twins. We are close, at least I like to think we are ( and if she is reading this, don't flatter yourself). While my younger sisters and I's relationship is a bit more rocky just like Emmy's and Saba's. We fight. But that doesn't mean I love her less. Ew this is starting to get cheesy.

10.The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I'm still in the process of reading this one,and if it's already on this list before I even finished it, that says something. ;)That's all I will say for now.

That's enough of my blabbering.I am curious about your TTT, feel free to leave a link! :)

Sunday, April 7, 2013

ARC Review: True by Erin McCarthy


When Rory Macintosh’s roommates find out that their studious and shy friend has never been with a guy, they decide that, as an act of kindness they’ll help her lose her virginity by hiring confident, tattooed bad boy Tyler Mann to do the job…unbeknownst to Rory.

Tyler knows he’s not good enough for Rory. She’s smart, doctor smart, while he’s barely scraping by at his EMT program, hoping to pull his younger brothers out of the hell their druggy mother has left them in. But he can’t resist taking up her roommates on an opportunity to get to know her better. There’s something about her honesty that keeps him coming back when he knows he shouldn’t…

Torn between common sense and desire, the two find themselves caught up in a passionate relationship. But when Tyler’s broken family threatens to destroy his future, and hers, Rory will need to decide whether to cut her ties to his risky world or follow her heart, no matter what the cost…

Genre: New Adult/Contemporary Romance
Series: N/a
Rating: 4☆s

Review: Demons at Deadnight by A&E Kirk

"I launched into a graceful ninja-like front roll, then stood my ground to face the monstrous heathen, fearless in my determination to vanquish the deadly foe. Nah, just kidding. I bolted, discretion being the better part of not getting dead."

Genre: YA/ Paranormal Romance
Series: Divinicus Nex Chronicles #1
Rating: 5☆s

My reaction after reading this book:
Jaw dropping, eye watering, rainbow puking 420 pages of GOODNESS. No but seriously, reading a book this good is like finding a hole in the wall. Demons at Deadnight is definitely a hidden gem. I'm having stomach pains from laughing too hard while reading.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Review: Captured by Erica Stevens

Blood Slave.
Captured, taken from her beloved family and woods, Aria’s biggest fear is not the imminent death facing her, but that she will be chosen as a blood slave for a member of the ruling vampire race. No matter what becomes of her though, Aria knows that she must keep her identity hidden from the monsters imprisoning her. She has already been branded a member of the rebellion, but the vampires do not know the true depth of her involvement with it, and they must never know.

Though hoping for death, Aria’s world is turned upside down when a vampire named Braith steps forward to claim her. He delays her execution, but Aria knows it’s only a matter of time before he drains her, and destroys her. Especially once she learns his true identity as a prince within the royal family; the same royal family that started the war that ultimately brought down humankind, reducing them to nothing more than servants and slaves.

Aria is determined to hate the prince, determined not to give into him in anyway, but his strange kindness, and surprising gentleness astonish her. Torn between her loyalties to the rebellion, and her growing love for her greatest enemy, Aria struggles to decide between everything she has ever known, and a love she never dreamed of finding.

Genre: YA/ Paranormal Romance/Indie (Represent!)
Series: The Captive #1
Rating: 3☆s